NaNoWriMo 2017

20171028_083000.jpg

If you follow a writing blog or two, you will probably see that a lot of writers around the world are gearing up for the National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) which takes place every November. I first heard of it a good few years ago but wasn’t consistently writing at the time so it didn’t seem feasible or reasonable to participate.

But now I am writing regularly, I’m working on a book, have two blogs and ideas constantly flowing through my head. However, I also have a million things going on, so I am completely in two minds about whether I take part this year or not. I am a procrastinator so I suppose any reason to put something off, I will try.

I have put it in my calendar for next year already in anticipation of me not doingย  it this year but making sure there is no excuse to not do it next year. At the end of the day though, there isn’t really a good reason to not do it.

I promised myself that I would publish content on this blog on the 7th, 14th, 21st and 28th of every month. I did have an almost 10 week head start of posts ready to go but I am hurriedly writing this today, on the 28th, because my procrastination has killed my head start. So, do I play to type and procrastinate away a month of productivity?

In the writing group on Facebook that I’m in, the creator of the group, Annika Spalding has said that she’s doing it and wants some members to come along with her on the journey. She’s been posting tips in the group of how we can plan our way through the month. I haven’t been writing a plan but I’ve been taking in what she’s saying and, in my head, applying it to a story I’ve been thinking about. It’d be pretty awesome if I could write a novel, or the majority of it in a month.

I’ve already got a photo project planned on my Instagram/ other blog for November that will take up some of my time but not all of it. And that’s only photos. Maybe I should take the challenge and then I could post about my progress on here to get some posts up over the next month or so. I just don’t know.

Do I have what it takes? Can I be consistent? Do I have the writing stamina to last the whole month? Do I have the time? I suppose I won’t know unless I try. Fifty thousand words in a month or 1666 words a day is possible?ย  I ask that as a question because I am just not sure. But if in the next 3 days I do decide to get in on the action, this is the story idea I want to develop.

It came from a prompt from Annika’s writing group, Writing with Confidence. The prompt began “I just wanted it to stop because if I didn’t…” and then you had to write for 5 minutes. This is what I wrote:

“I just wanted it to stop because if it didn’t who knew what would happen. The weight of the world was on my young shoulders and I couldn’t take it. As the others argued in the conference room about our next course of action, I snuck away to walk quietly along the beach.

No-one ever asked me what I wanted, if I even wanted this. Seventeen years old and tasked with saving the universe. When I was first told about my “job” I was terrified. I still am. And there they are plotting the best way for me to not die with a plan B of if I die what they do next.

There will be no mourning of me, just moving onto the next thing. I shouldn’t really be surprised. If I fail, they have billions of people to save. I’m just a grain of sand in a beach of lost souls.

I looked down at my feet and hadn’t even realised that they were wet. As soon as I looked I started to feel the cold. I suppose I should head back and see what they’ve decided about my life. It would be kind of useful to know how they expected me to die.

Because that’s what they expected. Failure was expected and I am not really in the mood to prove them wrong. I would love to become a hero talked about for the ages but who would believe that of little old me.”

I guess if I can write that much in 5 minutes, what’s my excuse?

xx woeful writes (possibly participating in NaNoWriMo 2017) xx

Official link to NaNoWriMo

Are you participating??

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2017

  1. Pingback: NaNoWriMo – Week One | Woeful Writes

  2. Pingback: How I Got My Braids (part one) - Woeful To FroFull

  3. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Week 3: I Think I Hate You | Woeful Writes

Leave a Reply

